Ribbonwork Flowers

I don’t know if it’s a costuming thing, but I’ve always been fascinated with embellishments.  Last year’s fad had flowers on all sorts of accessories.  Jacket lapels, purses, t-shirts, shoes, nothing seemed quite finished without a flower on it.  And I jumped right in and started making crafty little flowers.  They were cute and easy to make, but of course I had to take it a step further.

In my search, I came across the book ‘Ribbonwork – The Complete Guide’ by Helen Gibb, and I was hooked.  This was better than chocolate… well maybe not quite.

         

Ribbonwork is not to be confused with ribbon embroidery.  While both are surface embellishments made with ribbon, ribbon embroidery involves actually designing directly on a surface with ribbons.  Ribbonwork uses  a variety of ribbons to make flowers and leaves and then each is arranged and attached on whatever surface you choose.  Following Helen’s easy to understand guidelines I was able to work through many lovely creations.

Then, at one of my ASG meetings, a gal showed up with a gorgeous bloom that she made at a shop called ‘The Ribbonry’ in Ohio.  Well, I had to have one of these.  There was much discussion about the kits and how a few thought them pricey, but I felt they were reasonable considering silk ribbons are not cheap.  I took the plunge and purchased The Bohemian Poppy Kit in Vermilion for skill level (1) beginner, a plus for me.

       

I LOVE my flower!  It measures approximately 6 x 6, a fairly nice size.  There’s a pin on the back so it can go wherever, but I think I’m saving it for my 1912 hat.  We’ll see…..

4 Comments

Filed under 1912 Hat Challenge, Crafts, The 1912 Project

4 responses to “Ribbonwork Flowers

  1. Pretty! I’ve been making felt roses recently, but maybe I need to pull out some ribbon just for something different.

  2. I love ribbon flowers. Have been doing for years now. Helen is a good source but to ramp it up a notch go with The Artful Ribbon by Candace Kling. The most incredible book on Ribbonwork. Click on her classes to see some of her work take you breath away.
    http://www.candacekling.com/

Leave a Reply

