Edwardian Underthings – Folkwear #203

Well with all the 1912 sewing inspiration, I decided I needed to make the proper undergarments to wear under all the fabulous fashion patterns yet to arrive.  I had Folkwear Pattern #203 in my stash so I set to work with additional fabric that I purchased when making the Princess Slip.  The fabric is a soft, white, 100% cotton lawn that was just dreamy to work with, and it now makes a perfect ‘trousseau’ set.  I decided to make the camisole and open drawers, omitting the petticoat.

Folkwear #203

Folkwear #203

I don’t know how period correct it is, but it looks absolutely adorable.  I made little tucks and used the same lace beading and blue ribbon for the neckline to match the slip.  The pattern directions actually called for insertion lace, but I only had about 5 inches left after my slip was complete, so….  tucks it is.

                

Next up… the corset.  Just waiting on a few more stays.

Leave a comment

Filed under Folkwear Patterns, The 1912 Project

Leave a Reply

